The Lesson of the Deer   Leave a comment

P1180413-upload“I don’t have to take a trip around the world or be on a yacht in the Mediterranean to have happiness. I can find it in the little things, like looking out into my backyard and seeing deer in the fields.” – Queen Latifah

“Bambi was inspired, and said trembling, “There is Another who is over us all, over us and over Him.” ― Felix Salten, Bambi

“Oh give me a home where the buffalo roam, Where the deer and the antelope play, Where seldom is heard a discouraging word And the skies are not cloudy all day.” – c.1873 ‘Home on the Range’

For the past few weeks several deer, up to five at a time have decided to come and feed under both the feeders in the back yard and the one in the front. I know there are at least two does with their young ones and possible the fifth deer is a buck. That one never gets close enough to make sure. I still have screens on the windows, so it is a challenge to get a good shot. I got this one putting the lens close to the glass so it diffused the screen.

They are such beautiful animals and just what I needed to see as winter starts to wind down. It’s been a cold, cold winter with lots of snow. Having two hills that wind between two small lakes make getting in and out a challenge at times. So I have been spending a lot of time inside. The dogs and I go out for short walks several times a day but often they and phone calls from my daughters in Florida are my only companionship, so having some deer come to visit is a welcome change.

Right now one of the young ones has come back after the others saw me through the window and ran back into the woods. She is a brave little deer, seems not to be afraid as she feeds on the sunflower and bird seed on the ground. She doesn’t quite know what to make of the cats when they are out though. But she doesn’t run very far away. She waits and then comes back and resumes her feeding.

I want to be like her. When things that I don’t understand cause me anxiety and I start to run I want, with the strength and peace that comes from God, to stop and slowly wind my way back to where I belong.

And that’s the lesson I’ve learned this last day of February, 2015 from this little brave doe.

Posted February 28, 2015 by hwilliam in Photography

Leave a Reply

