Art?   Leave a comment

P1180023-edit1-paint-upload“Art is not so much a matter of methods and processes as it is an affair of temperament, of taste and of sentiment… In the hands of the artist, the photograph becomes a work of art… In a word, photography is what the photographer makes it – an art or a trade.” – William Howe Downess – Photo Era, March 1900, World History of Photography by Naomi Rosenblum , ISBN: 0789209462 , Page: 296

“The eyes sink to the heart to make the art.” – Melanie Einzig

“Art helps us see with new eyes what we knew was there but never really recognized. I photograph not to record or document—but rather, to capture and hold, just for a moment, the essence of what exists beyond the scene.” – Robert Hall

I like that last quote a lot, “I photograph not to record or document-but rather, to capture and hold, just for a moment, the essence of what exists beyond the scene.” If you visit my website (http://www.naturephotographybyhwillam.com ) you will find these words: “Photographs on this site are not meant to be exact representations of an actual scene as recorded by the camera. As a visual artist rather than a documentary photographer, I reserve the right to alter each image to represent my impression of the scene……..Because of this possible manipulation of the image, the image is not to be considered as a documentary representation of the scene as it existed.”

There is nothing wrong with presenting an image as close to reality as is possible. It takes a great deal of talent both in capturing the image and getting it ready to be viewed. Clyde Butcher ( http://www.clydebutcher.com ) is one of my favorite photographers of this era and while he does dodging and burning his images are as close to reality as possible. He has spent years documenting the Florida Everglades and other locations and I consider him a documentary photographic artist.

On the other hand, more and more, I am seeing my world in a different way. Sometimes in what I would call abstract and other times in a way I would like to paint it, if I had the talent to wield a paint brush. The attached image is an attempt to add a “painterly” feeling to this photo of leaves. I would be interested in knowing if you feel I have done that. Your objective comments are appreciated.

Posted January 28, 2015 by hwilliam in Photography

Leave a Reply

