Lonesome Pine   Leave a comment

Lonesome Pine-upload“I wonder if the snow loves the trees and fields, that it kisses them so gently? And then it covers them up snug, you know, with a white quilt; and perhaps it says “Go to sleep, darlings, till the summer comes again.” ― Lewis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass

“What good is the warmth of summer, without the cold of winter to give it sweetness.” ― John Steinbeck, Travels with Charley: In Search of America

“If we had no winter, the spring would not be so pleasant: if we did not sometimes taste of adversity, prosperity would not be so welcome.” [Meditations Divine and Moral]” ― Anne Bradstreet, The Works of Anne Bradstreet

In 70 days it will be April 1st and unless the weather plays an April Fool’s joke on us it will be warmer, the snow will be gone, the grass will turn green, the early spring flowers will open their blooms to the world and I won’t have to wear my boots when I go outside with the doggies.

Winter is more of a stay-at-home time for me now. Not complaining, not lonesome, just a fact. Heavy boots at my age don’t make for long walks in the snow-covered woods. So, I sit here at the computer and work on seeing what kind of art I can create from photos previously taken. This is one of them.

Not sure when I took this shot, probably 2005 or 2006. I know it was taken with my HP 945 point and shoot camera but so far I can’t find the original image on one of my backup drives. it might be on one of my DVDs I haven’t gone through for a long time. I entered it in a Better Photo contest and was given an “Editor’s Pic” award. My fist “like” for a digital image. (http://www.betterphoto.com/gallery/free/gallery.asp?mem=96923 ).

Posted January 21, 2015 by hwilliam in Photography

Leave a Reply

