My Main Street In Autumn   Leave a comment

P1180035-1stedit-upload Autumn’s the mellow time. – William Allingham

By all these lovely tokens September days are here, With summer’s best of weather And autumn’s best of cheer. – Helen Hunt Jackson

“Fall has always been my favorite season. The time when everything bursts with its last beauty, as if nature had been saving up all year for the grand finale.”
― Lauren DeStefano, Wither

“Autumn…the year’s last, loveliest smile.” – [Indian Summer]” ― William Cullen Bryant

“Sometimes I do get to places just when God’s ready to have somebody click the shutter.”
― Ansel Adams

I am no Ansel Adams nor would I wish to be. I am me, full of fears, insecurities, what-if’s and doubts. I am also me, full of hope, happiness, optimism, why-not’s and excitement. As Popeye said, “I yam what I yam, and that’s all what I yam.” Yet I do feel the awe, the feeling of beauty, the knowledge that now and then I’m somewhere “just when God’s ready to have somebody click the shutter.”

I am a lucky man. I get to live in the woods, near a couple of little lakes in West Michigan. I get to see the seasons as they change, each one with its special touch to the landscape. I get to sit at my computer and look out the kitchen window into the depth of the woods each day. And I get to make photographs.

I do not propose that all the images I make are works of art. I do not know that even one out of a thousand images will adequately express what I want the viewer to see, to feel, to enjoy. But, I keep on making photographs. I keep on trying to express the beauty of my landscape to others. And sometimes, yes sometimes, I succeed.

Posted November 4, 2014 by hwilliam in Photography

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

