Thoughts of a Fly   Leave a comment

DSC_1844-1-upload “My 10th Sonata is a sonata of insects. Insects are born from the sun… they are the sun’s kisses.” – Alexander Scriabi

“I love insects. They are amazing.” – Andrea Arnold

” Nature will bear the closest inspection. She invites us to lay our eye level with her smallest leaf, and take an insect view of its plain.” – Henry David Thoreau

“Love has its own instinct, finding the way to the heart, as the feeblest insect finds the way to its flower, with a will which nothing can dismay nor turn aside.” – Honore de Balzac

When I was in 4th grade, back in 1948-49, I read a book about a boy close to my age who became an ant for a day. It was amazing the things he learned and how his view of ants changed after that experience. And through the years it has made me wonder, what lessons can I learn from the lowly bug?

I came across this photo while playing around in Lightroom this morning. I didn’t realize that there was fly on the flower until I enlarged it in the Develop module. For some reason that fly made me stop and wonder…How does that fly see the flower? How does he (I checked, it’s a male!) see this wonderful place I call home? Does he appreciate the freedom, the joy, the sense of just being? Does he know his life is just a moment in time to us humans? And if he does, does he care? Does he live life to it’s fullest, enjoying the simplest of pleasures like just taking a sun bath on the petals of a flower?

I am much more advanced than the fly. My brain is bigger, I can reason, I can think, I can talk, I am a human being. But do I enjoy my life any more than the fly? Do I worry about things I can’t control? Do I get so involved in the problems of life that I can’t enjoy the simple things? Do I ever just enjoy being? Do I savor the moment or worry about the future? Where are my priorities?

So, I stopped working on the photo and sat back, relaxed, looked out the window at my woods, the sunshine, the shadows, the beauty and took a deep breath. And for that short while, before I let the pressures of life back in, I was as free as that fly.

Posted June 26, 2014 by hwilliam in Photography

Leave a Reply

