After the Rain   Leave a comment

IMG_1362-1st-bw-upload“Be still, sad heart! and cease repining;
Behind the clouds is the sun still shining;
Thy fate is the common fate of all,
Into each life some rain must fall,
Some days must be dark and dreary.” – Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

“I beg your pardon I never promised you a rose garden
Along with the sunshine there’s gotta be a little rain sometime
When you take you gotta give so live and let live and let go oh oh oh oh
I beg your pardon I never promised you a rose garden” – written by Joe South, first recorded by Lynn Anderson

“Into each life some rain must fall
But too much is falling in mine
Into each heart some tears must fall
But some day the sun will shine” – written by Allan Roberts (lyrics) and Doris Fisher (melody), recorded as a duet by the Ink Spots and Ella Fitzgerald in 1944

Years ago there was a gospel song that had a line that went “Back of the clouds the sun is always shining…” Sometimes in life I lose fact that it’s the clouds that get between the earth and the sun, the sun never stops shining. Its rays still go forth as bright and powerful as they always have. It’s not that I have days when the sun doesn’t shine, I just have days that clouds get in the way and hide it. The sun hasn’t changed but my perception of it has.

And to me, that is the way life is. There will always be times of clouds, with or without the rain and that’s okay as long as I realize, up there, the sun is still shining. I need the rain from time to time to make the seeds sprout, the flowers bloom and the grass grow. I need the balance of sun and rain, the yin and yang as it were. And maybe in my life I need the days of rain to stop the treadmill of life, take a step backwards, relax and reflect not only of where I am but who I am. Maybe I need those days to really appreciate the sun filled days when I can dance in the meadow, enjoying the warmth of the sun, the brilliance of the sky and the joy of just being alive. The golden days of life – After the Rain.

Posted June 18, 2014 by hwilliam in Photography

Leave a Reply

