The Trail You Leave Behind   Leave a comment

IMG_1048-1-upload”Sometimes the path you leave behind is more important than the path ahead of you” – How to Steal a Dog by Barbara O’Connor

The father of one of my “summer” neighbors decided that instead of buying a new Harley this year he’d purchase a brand new Corvette convertible! It’s a beautiful car and he brought it up to the lake to give her and the kids a ride last weekend. I was on my way to pick up the mail and had my camera as they drove past, up and over the hill, kicking up dust from our main dirt road . I was struck by the way the dust hung in the air, in front of a shaft of evening sunlight, so I took a few shots.

The car was gone, the sound of its powerful engine receding as it got further away but the dust sill hung in the air, obscuring the view of what lay over the hill. For that few minutes that dust was the trail they left behind. It was all that I could see. Not where they were going, not why they had left, nothing else remained, the dust was their statement of existence.

And it made me wonder, what do those who follow in my path see? What have I left behind that shows I was there? What have I left that will last? They can’t see where I’m going, my good intentions, my dreams, my plans. All they can see is what I left, the tangible evidence that shows where I was. To them, I am the trail I left behind.

I can’t change the past, but today I can start marking my trail in a positive way, leaving things that count along the way. I can leave sunlight, moonbeams, clouds and blue sky. I can leave love, trust, kisses and prayer, things that matter. I want to leave something far better than dust!

What do you want to leave?

Posted June 4, 2014 by hwilliam in Photography

Leave a Reply

