Let’s Pretend   1 comment

IMG_0875-bw-uploadI grew up in those wonderful, interesting days of radio. Back in a time when we all sat around the magical box that brought us all the entertainment and news, so important to our lives. My mother was very selective in what movies I was allowed to see and so I was not exposed to very many films while growing up so the radio and reading became my main form of entertainment. Mother and my grandmother would come into the living room almost every evening to listen to their favorite programs. I remember them listening to so such things as “Baby Snooks,” “One Man’s Family,” “Lum and Abner,” “Amos ā€˜nā€™ Andy,” “Fibber McGee & Molly,” “Edger Bergen,” “The Aldrich Family” “The Jack Benny Program” and other such shows. I got to listen to “Superman,” “The Lone Ranger,” “Sky King.” “The Cisco Kid” and others in the same venue. No way would they allow “The Inner Sanctum,” “I Love a Mystery,” “Suspense” or “Boston Blackie” in the program schedule. Granddad’s favorites were the local news programs in the morning, afternoon and evening, along with”Lowell Thomas” and “Gabriel Heater” during the war years. And of course Detroit Tiger’s baseball!

We didn’t have a television set, granddad thought they were a waste of time. I did get to go to the neighbors now and then to watch Sherri Lewis and Lamb Chop and the Gillette’s Friday Night Fights. And once or twice I saw Superman on TV and that brings me to the point I want to make – The difference between “Lets Pretend” and “Lets Watch!”

Back in those radio days I laid on the floor, looking at the radio and imagining the people, the scenes, the action and everything I heard was translated into my version of reality by my mind. The image of my heroes was what I imagined them to be. I remember how disappointed I was the first time I saw “Superman” on TV. This was not the “Superman” I followed on the radio. This character was a poor imitation of “The Man of Steel!” And I think that is the reason that I look for something beyond the obvious in many of my photographs.

The attached image is an example of what I mean. I was walking back from getting the mail when I noticed this piece of wood leaning against one of our neighbor’s trees. The more I looked at it the more I saw some kind of animal, maybe blind, talking to the tree. Maybe seeking consolation after being attacked by another creature. In any case, to me, this piece of wood was just as alive as the dog that was walking with me.

I am sure I would have missed this image if I had been raised having everything “shown” to me, never having to use my mind to experience the programs that I heard. Maybe I’m just being an old guy, living in the past, not embracing reality, but I don’t mind. I like it!

Posted May 27, 2014 by hwilliam in Photography

One response to “Let’s Pretend

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You are right. It does look like animal. To me it has a turtle like face. Nice Billy Dee. Have a great day.

    Ann Charlesworth

Leave a Reply

