The Storms of Life   1 comment

HPIM1542-Edit-Edit-Edit-Edit-uploadNothing is more beautiful than the love that has weathered the storms of life. The love of the young for the young, that is the beginning of life. But the love of the old for the old, that is the beginning of things longer.
Jerome K. Jerome

I came across this quote while looking for something that would verbally express the attached image and it spoke to my heart. A couple of days ago, Sunday, was the fourth month anniversary of my wife’s (Shirlee) passing. She was just past 75 and was dying from a combination of lung cancer and COPD. It really was a blessing that the Lord took her when He did as we have had the coldest and snowiest winter I’ve seen in the 10 years I’ve lived back here in Michigan. But even though I am at peace with her passing, I miss her so very much.

“The love of the old for the old, that is the beginning of things longer.” We only had about 12 and a half years together since we reconnected on the internet in 2001 but she had been in my heart and mind since third grade. To me, she was my elementary school sweetheart, to her, I was a close friend that she could talk to. She moved away at the end of 5th grade but we used to see each other at church once or twice a summer when her folks would come back to visit. Just before high school graduation we had one date and then for 45 years we lost touch. But during that time she was always in my mind. “I wonder what happened to Shirlee” was a constant thought and sometimes I even put it into words. When, in God’s time, we reconnected I discovered that she had remembered me all those years. When we spoke on the phone for the first time it was like those years had melted away and we were picking up where we left off in 1956.

“The love of the old for the old, that is the beginning of things longer.” True love. Endless love. The beginning of things longer. What more can be said about the wisdom of time that changes us and strengthens us to not fear the storms of life anymore. We can see that they are coming, but we are able to meet them head on knowing that they will soon be over and no matter what life throws at us, with God’s love and help, we’ll make it through okay.

“The love of the old for the old, that is the beginning of things longer.”

Posted April 1, 2014 by hwilliam in Photography

One response to “The Storms of Life

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very nice..I do believe Shirlee was and always will be your one true love!

    Kitten Linderman

Leave a Reply

