Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall   Leave a comment

DSCN9358-edit-5700-uploadRight now, at least here in West Michigan, we are suffering one of the worst winters in history. Today, March 7, 2014, I look out the back window into the woods and see about 2 feet of snow still on the ground. A few days ago it was -16, today it is predicted to hit a high of 38. I see the trenches the dogs and I have made to their favorite places of business, the snow still too deep to go out for long walks in the woods. At least the sun is shinning! It is still winter. Will spring ever come?

And the answer is, in its time it will. And then summer and fall. Each season in the order it has followed for many years. Sometimes each season is shorter or longer, warmer or colder, rainy or dry, but they will come.

That is the way of life. We all live through “seasons.” Some times are better than others, but as we age we progress in the same way, as surely as each season follows the other. My mind is still back in summer while my body is in winter, and the rest of me somewhere in fall. But that is okay. I am a decaying being. From the time I was born it was ordained that someday I would die. (Unless the Lord comes before that) So acceptance is part of my life. Doing the best I can to enjoy each second, each moment of each day. To, as the into to Star Treck stated, “To bravely go where no man has gone before.” Each day a new adventure to enjoy, to learn from and to treasure. To follow the road where it leads, one day at a time.

Posted March 7, 2014 by hwilliam in Photography

Leave a Reply

