Seasons, Photography and Memories   2 comments

IMG_0388=test-upload2 Seasons come and seasons go.
First there’s rain and then there’s snow.
With Summer and Fall in between
Which one is my favorite scene?

As I’ve written before, with Shirlee being bedridden with the last stages of her lung cancer, there isn’t much time for photography and that is okay with me. She comes first in all my day-to-day activities and that is the way I want it. I have learned so much from her, she taught without teaching. She has been so supportive of my photography, my music and my writing. She has given constructive criticism when it was called for and praise when she felt I deserved it. Did I always like the criticism? Of course not! There were times we had long, sometimes loud discussions on the subject. But in the end, after I became objective, she was almost usually correct. And knowing she was only trying to make whatever I was doing better, the times of praise were even more special.

So what does all of that have to do with changing seasons, you ask. Just this, like the changing of the West Michigan seasons, so too is the changing of life. The Spring, The Summer, The Fall and finally The Winter. All different, all bringing disappointment and hope mingled together. Like the old question, “Is the glass half empty or half full?” so is our view of these changing seasons. How we look at them will determine how we feel about them. It will not change the actual happenings, but it will change our perspective. And our perspective is what determines our reaction.

And so it is with what’s going in in our lives at the moment. Each day that Shirlee is physically in my life is a day to cherish in so many respects. But the days she suffers with her pain and breathing problems cause me to ask myself, “Am I being selfish?”. I don’t want to see her suffer, but on the other hand it is hard to let go. But letting go is what I need to do. She is at peace with the future. She and I both know we’ll be together in Heaven someday. She’s probably just going to get there first. And when I accept that and she knows it’s okay to go, then our lives are in harmony. Our feelings and perceptions are aligned. Our love is forever true.

So, whether I take photographs now is not important. By spending my days and nights with her I am making memories of our time together that will last forever. And aren’t they the best photographs of all?

Posted November 12, 2013 by hwilliam in Uncategorized

2 responses to “Seasons, Photography and Memories

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bill,
    I will keep Shirlee in my prayers. If you ever need to talk don’t hesitate to get in touch.

  2. Hi Bill, Very moving post here. Hey people take breaks from photography sometimes for years for all sorts of much less important reasons. You are doing what is important. You will be very glad later and your photography will be different and better for it. Not that it isn’t amazing already. Look at the image in this post for example. It is superb.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

