The Enchanted Woods   Leave a comment

DSC_2441-Edi-1t-paint-uploadFor those of you who are not familiar with Dewitt Jones let me introduce you to him. Dewitt is a former National Geographic photographer who explores the spiritual side of photography in lectures to both major corporations and in his writing. For about 18 years he as written a column with the header “Basic Jones” for Outdoor Photorgapher In the 2005 Landscape issue of the magazine he wrote a column entitled “A Vision” in which he tells the story of an experience that happened to him when he was 17 and employed as a canoe guide in Canada’s Quetico Provincial Park.

One day as he was canoeing he had a unique experience. He writes, “The sky seemed cut from crystal, it was that sharp. The azure liquid lake that held my canoe was alive. The pines on the edge of the lake trembled on the edge of consciousness.

Time stopped for me.

Nature seemed to be loosing her tether. What was happening? My world was becoming unhinged. I could barely breathe. I sat down for fear of losing my balance.

The more I looked at the landscape, the more it became alive…..

Dewitt goes on to describe this moment of his life when everything changed, He describes what he felt, what he saw, what he knew and how it changed him.

Just before the conclusion of his column he writes these words, “The door that opened that day would never close again. For years I couldn’t speak about it, yet hardly a day goes by in which this experience with the landscape doesn’t help direct my life.

I have not had this same experience, however I often have a unique feeling of wonderment when I enter the woods. The shadows may may turn ordinary objects into shapes that may threaten our please. Sunbeams dance across the landscape darting in and out of the shadows. The trees take on a life of their own. Some times in the middle of summer the air turns cold around me. The woods have a life of their own. The have become enchanted.

Posted June 12, 2013 by hwilliam in Photography

Leave a Reply

