Rare Species of Bird in Acker Woods   Leave a comment

P1170397-Edit-Edi-uploadt

The fun thing about living in Acker Woods is never knowing what kind of wildlife will be encountered on the twice a day doggie walks. For example, Duke and I encountered this strange bird sitting in the snow on our morning walk a couple of days ago. I think Duke discovered it before I did, gave a bark to let me know and trotted over to say good morning. Duke is a very loving, playful Black Lab and gets along with almost all of the creatures we find. He sniffed it a few times and when it wouldn’t fly, walk away or play he quickly lost interest. Since the snow was fairly deep, I hesitated in checking it out, but thinking it might be injured I made my way through the snow to give it a closeup look. Imagine my surprise to find not only was it okay, it was the very rare Oaklimb Branchopolis! I had only seen a picture of one in a bird book so I knew they are not native to West Michigan. What a find! Once again I can thank Duke for helping me with another great photo op!

Posted March 14, 2013 by hwilliam in Photography

Leave a Reply

