Thank You Dewitt Jones!   Leave a comment

P1060934adjustedupload

Every now and then something happens in your life that really blows you away. Monday, March 4, 2013 I received an email that sure qualifies as one of those times. The email had a subject heading “Facebook” and when I opened it, this is what I read,

“My name is Barbara Bozzo. You’ve probably seen me posting and commenting on Dewitt Jones’ Daily Celebrations Facebook Page. I’ve been helping Dewitt with the administration of page and am writing on his behalf.

Let me begin by thanking you for your postings on Daily Facebook Celebrations. They’re wonderful!

Dewitt has chosen your lovely photo of “Cruisin’ On A Sunday Afternoon – Sept. 25, 2012 – as one of his “favorites”.

He would like to post it on the Celebrate What’s Right website and, as a thank you, send you a print of one of his photos”

Wow! To have the attached image included in the first 24 images he chose from all those that have been posted on his Daily Facebook Celebrations site is a real honor. You can see all the images he has chosen so far by clicking here

I discovered Dewitt Jones a number of years ago when my daughter, Kitten, sent me some copies of “Outdoor Photographer” and I discovered his column, “Basic Jones” Not only were his images fantastic, but the way he explored and explained the spiritual side of photography was inspiring in a way I’d never thought of before. He has continued that unique perspective with not only his weekly Photos of Celebration and his daily postings on Facebook.

On his blog he states, “I spent 20 years as a photographer for National Geographic. Every time they sent me out, they would ask me to Celebrate What’s Right with the World. I did and it changed my life. Everyday I see images that make me want to celebrate. One day, I decided to stop keeping these moments to myself and instead to share them with as many people as possible. So, each week, I send out an image with the same simple message.” And not content to just share his own images, he recently started a new page on Facebook and stated: “I’ve started a new community page on Facebook: www.facebook.com/celebratewhatsright.”

“Here everyone can post their own photos and stories of celebration. Hundreds of wonderful photo/stories have already been posted.”

So, “Thank you Dewitt. You certainly made March 4th a ‘A Day of Celebration’ to me.

Posted March 7, 2013 by hwilliam in Photography

Leave a Reply

