Even Artists Need To Know What They’re Doing!   Leave a comment

Monday morning I found this post from Skip Cohen, (founder of Marketing Essentials International and past president of Rangefinder Publishing Inc. and WPPI (Wedding and Portrait Photographers International). when Photographers Become “Togs”.

Since I had just written a post entitled “You Are Artists, So Photograph Like One”. The thrust of the post was to encourage photographers, including myself, to not always follow the rules, but to feel free to produce photographs that move you. I also implied, if not stated, that having the best, newest equipment was not going to make you a better photographer, especially if you don’t have the passion and the eye to go along with it.

That being said, I read Skip’s post with interest as he started it out by saying, “WARNING: It’s a Monday morning rant…” And that sure got my attention. You really need to go to his blog and read the whole article, but here are a fes of the things he said that make a whole lot of sense.

“I recently recorded an upcoming podcast for GoingPro with buddy, Michael Corsentino and the topic was the trend of the “Good-Enough Attitude”. You know the mentality…”It’ll be good enough for my client.” “It’ll be good enough to fix in Photoshop later.” A couple of days earlier, over dinner, Michael and I got into a conversation about photographers who think they can simply capture and create great images even though they’re completely lacking in the skill set.”

“Here’s the issue and it seems to be in the social media news a lot lately, there are photographers out there who honestly believe that passion for your dreams trumps the logical steps in learning to be a photographer. Passion is a key, but nothing trumps understanding the craft and your business.”

“The saddest part of this shortcut attitude, shoot and burn mentality is how much these people are missing and how easy it is to pick up the knowledge you need to become a better photographer.”

“But it takes work to capture and create images that “wow” people. It takes work to really build your business on a solid foundation that promotes repeat business. I’ll close this little rant with a quote I found that says it all:

“It takes less time to do something right the first time, than it does to explain why you did it wrong.””

And I agree. Passion doesn’t trump knowing what you’re doing and there is no excuse to produce inferior photographs. You have to learn the rules, you have to know you’re equipment, you just plain have to know what you’re doing before you can chart your own course and produce quality images that not only move you, but move your clients also.

For example, the attached photo of a couple of my wife’s tulips was shot with my 3mpg cell phone. and while it looks okay here on the screen and would probably be okay as a 41/2″x6″ greeting card image, there is no way that I would try to market it as anything larger. I know the limitations of my equipment. On a great day I might get an image that would print as a 16×20, but not often, 9×12 or 11×14 is the largest that works for me. And that’s just fine.

Thanks for stopping by.

Posted April 19, 2012 by hwilliam in Photography

Leave a Reply

