Confessions of a Snapshooter   1 comment

Okay, I’ll admit it, compared to the Professional Photographers who do this for a living, I’m a snapshooter. Doesn’t bother me in the least,Just wanted you all to know.

Back when I was shooting for some weekly newspapers and monthly magazines I owned a pretty good set of Nikon equipment, A F3, FM2n with drive, 8008 and a 8008s. Nikkor lenses from 21mm to 300mm. Tripods, battery packs, studio and portable flash units and more. Today I walk the woods with a simple point and shoot Panasonic Lumix FZ35 digital camera. So, what changed and why?

I am almost 74 years old, have some health issues including a bad back. Carrying heavy equipment is out of the question. Even though I’m retired, I don’t have a lot of time to spend in the woods so I multi-task with having a dog on a leash almost every time I go out in the woods. With a leash in one hand and a light camera in the other I am free to create images that speak to me. I know I won’t be offering prints bigger than 16×20 and probably most at 11×14 or smaller. But today that is fine with me. I believe that you have to do what works for you.

Posted April 3, 2012 by hwilliam in Photography

One response to “Confessions of a Snapshooter

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You can be a “snapshooter” all you want because you still take some amazing photos…though that is nothing new to me, you always have!!

    Kitten Linderman

Leave a Reply

