Where Am I Going?   1 comment

“There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs.” – Ansel Adams

Today we live in a world that is growing smaller, going faster and becoming more complicated. We don’t make phone calls – we text. We don’t send letters – we send email. We communicate by use of Facebook and Twitter. It’s a digital world that says you have to get it faster and faster. Like 3 seconds difference really makes a difference. We are bombarded with commercials wherever we turn. Everything is a “must have.”

As I have probably mentioned before, I am 73 years old. I come from a different time. We didn’t have a TV in our home until I was almost 19! I listened to dramas on the radio and my imagination gave me the images to go with the words. I lived in a black and white world. Most movies were in black and white. The greatest photo magazine of its time was Life and those images were mostly in black and white. I began photographing with a Kodak Duflex using black and white film, some of which I developed in my bedroom and made contact prints with a little contact printer. My uncle shot Kodachrome with his Leica but never used color negative film. I love black and white.

And then….s few nights ago the Oscars were held and guess what? A black and white film was voted the top film of the past year and ended up with 5 awards. And a silent film at that! Does that mean that somewhere inside of us there is desire to retreat back to a simpler time? Is it time to slow down and “smell the roses?”

I can’t answer that for anyone but myself and the answer is “yes.”

Posted February 29, 2012 by hwilliam in Photography

One response to “Where Am I Going?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This one makes me wonder what the dog sees. What is ‘in’ the woods?

Leave a Reply

