When All Is Said and Done   4 comments

I just read a very interesting post by photographer Jay Goodrich entitled “In the End What Will You be Noted For?” (http://jaygoodrich-blog.com/2012/02/in-the-end-what-will-you-be-known-for/comment-page-1/#comment-23165) The thrust of the first part of his post is about getting trapped in thinking you must have the latest and greatest equipment. Like thinking that having a full-frame Canon will make them another Ansel Adams.Arguing and complaining about everything from iPhone photography to which camera is the “best.” But it’s his last paragraph that really hit me.

“In the end do you want to be known for blowing your kid’s college education on camera bodies and lenses? Or do you want to be known for capturing a brief, fleeting moment in time that speaks to someone else’s soul? I will choose the latter every single time. And if you take all of my cameras away. Smash all of the computers. Burn all of the paper. Destroy all of the forests. I will keep those visuals I have seen through out my life, to myself and share those experiences through the campfire with only those closest to me. My life will always be complete. Now the biggest question is–will yours?”

And that is where I want to be when it is all over. Having made images that are worth remembering even though I will never travel the world, will never own “Pro” equipment and will never achieve worldly success. I will know that I enjoyed doing what I was capable of doing and that’s what counts!

Posted February 23, 2012 by hwilliam in Photography

4 responses to “When All Is Said and Done

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well said, both of you! :^D

  2. This is a fantastic post! Exactly how I feel as well! I read so many photog blogs where people are working so hard to establish themselves with new equipment, new education, etc., as a “professional photographer.” Clients are making them upset. They’re struggling with the business side of photography — keeping books, filing taxes. When I read those things, it just makes me laugh. They’re helping themselves lose what made them happy when they picked their cameras up in the first place! I don’t ever want to lose that. I don’t ever want to get that serious about it. I just want to take pictures that speak to my heart, and maybe make a few people happy when they see them every day. 🙂 Thanks for sharing this!

  3. Pingback: Jay Goodrich Nature Photography INayan Hazra Photography -Flashbacks of a Fool

  4. Pingback: Nature Photography INayan Hazra Photography -Flashbacks of a Fool

Leave a Reply

