‘Twas The Night Before Christmas   Leave a comment

Still learning various conversions techniques on what goes into the camera and what comes out of the printer. I shot a series of the ominous Christmas eve sky. I was basically exposing for the light parts of the sky and letting everything else go where it wanted to. Resulting in the image at the bottom.

Since most of my photographs are taken while one hand is holding a dog leash the idea of using a tripod and making several different exposures of each subject doesn’t work for me. The idea of using one image, making several different copies at different exposure values and making an HDR image was something I really wanted to try.

I ran the Rw2 raw file through Sklypix Developer Studio to convert it to a tiff file without making any corrections to the image. I then brought the image into Photoshop CS2 and made 2 other exposures, one, using levels, the darkest areas of the foreground were lightened and one where the entire image was lightened, saving each one as a separate tiff file, again making no other adjustments. I then brought those two images, plus the original into Photomatrix for an HDR conveersion. I made the lightest image #1, the one where I lightened the entire image #2 and the original #3. These were processed with a 1 2/3 stop conversion. Using tone mapping I did some adjustments and saved it as a tone mapped tiff. Using Virtual Photographer, a Photoshop plug-in I made a few more adjustments and saved it again as a different named tiff. I added the border from Photo Tools Frame, another Photoshop plug-in. ran Unsharp Mask and saved it as another tiff, including the layers under another different name. I took that file, reduced the resolution to 100 and the size to 4.5 x 6″ added the copyright info and saved it as a flattened jpg. The above is the resulting image, which is very close to what my eye saw that Christmas evening.

Posted December 30, 2011 by hwilliam in Photography

Leave a Reply

