Granddad and the Kid   Leave a comment

It was 55 years ago, December 21, 1956, when Granddad passed away quietly in his sleep. I was 18 years old and he had been my father figure for most all of my life. He was the one who taught me to love nature, to hunt and fish while respecting wildlife. He taught me all of those values that were important to a small town mid-Michigan boy growing up in the 40s & 50s. His death was not unexpected as he had been in very bad health for the previous year, and he was ready to go. He probably had some form of bladder cancer, but back in 1956 medicine hadn’t advanced all that far.

I often think about Granddad. The initial H in my name is in memory of his name, Howard. The lessons that he taught me, while not always obeyed, have stayed with me all these years.

The photo is of Granddad and me at Duck Lake where I spent many of my summer days back then. It was taken by Grandma with her Brownie Box camera probably back in 1943-44. Grandad loved to fish and anything he did, I did. Last year I published my memoir of those days entitled “Granddad and the Kid” It is available as a Kindle, Nook or Ebook at http://www.writer-r-me.com

So, 55 years later, I say, “Rest in Peace, Granddad….One of these days we’ll go fishing together again.”

Posted December 21, 2011 by hwilliam in Photography

Leave a Reply

