What can you do with Point and Shoot Cameras?   Leave a comment

After spending many years shooting with various top of the line SLR film cameras and lugging around an assortment of lenses from 21mm to 500mm I have discovered that my back is no longer willing to carry the weight.

I’m now 73 years old, retired for the past 8 years, living with my 3rd grade sweetheart and back in Michigan after a 25 year absence, living in the West Michigan woods and loving every minute of it. There are countless photo opportunities right in our backyard and down the road at the lake and I try to take frequent advantage of those opportunities. And I do it with a different assortment of cameras.

i switched to digital about 6 years ago and have enjoyed the experience. Thanks to Photoshop and various plug-ins and other programs, I am now able to do even more than what I used to accomplish in the darkroom. And I don’t have to do it in the dark!

I now shoot with two Point and Shoot digital cameras, the Panasonic FZ35 and the Nikon 5700. The FZ35 is my primary camera because it offers both a wider and longer field of view and shoots both raw & joeg at 12 megapixels. The Nikon shoots either raw of jpeg and has the capability of shooting 3 or 5 individual shots at different exposures. And even though it is only a 5 megapixels, a properly exposed file and be printed up to 16 x 20!

The above photo is a Nikon shot of Acker Lake taken October 2010.

Posted November 20, 2011 by hwilliam in Photography

Leave a Reply

